10 unique ways to name your baby or book character.

This post has been slightly edited so that direct links are now (hopefully) included.

I have just been sent a link to an article, “10 Really Unique Ways to Name Your Baby”  from http://www.nannyservices.org/blog/ which the sender thought that I and/or my readers might be interested in. Well, I am waaaay past the baby naming stage, not that I ever got to it, but I popped over to the site anyway.  Who knows, maybe some of my writer ‘friends’ and their partners might be pouring over baby name books as I type this.

However, when I read the article’s title,  I immediately translated this to: “10 Really Unique Ways to Name Your Character.”

I do know of quite a few writers who do use baby name books to help with character naming, however this article may give you some other ‘novel’ ways of conjuring up names.

I particularly like point number 6: Apparently one mother came up with a very unique name for her daughter. When asked what the exotic sounding name meant, she replied, ‘Oh, it doesn’t mean anything. I just took part of the name from three cars I liked and put them together.”

You can certainly have some fun with this. Instead of cars you could take part of names of companies, favorite shops, movies, cosmetics or whatever, and come up with something unique or exotic or maybe just plain ridiculous. Maybe a character for my next poem or story might be Bunworth Smith (Bunnings-Woolworths-Dick Smith). Or you could jumble up a word such as  pizza and come  up with a name, Pizaz or Zipaz.  Okay, I know I am being silly now, but you get the idea.  Have some fun with character naming. And if you are seriously looking for baby names, you might find a unique exotic sounding name in your favorite cosmetics or  men’s aftershave.

Joking aside, the article provides some great ideas.

Article at:  http://www.nannyservices.org/blog/10-really-unique-ways-to-name-your-baby/

Happy baby or character naming.


About Helen Ross

Welcome to my creative world. I have many passions; some of which I write about in my blog posts. I have a quirky sense of humour, and dance to the beat of my own drum. Thanks for dropping by and hope you visit again soon. I always have tea, coffee, wine and cake.
This entry was posted in All my posts, Interesting trivia, Parent category, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 unique ways to name your baby or book character.

  1. Sally Odgers says:

    Thanks for the link, Helen; I’m off to check it out.

  2. Pingback: Author interview no.417 with writer Helen Ross « Morgen Bailey's Writing Blog

  3. Pingback: Author interview with children’s author, poet, article writer and blogger Helen Ross | Morgen's Author Interviews

Leave a comment