2017 wishes for you

new-year-2017-gif-image-wish

Wishing you all a wonderful 2017.  A lot of people on social media sites have expressed how happy they are to see the back of 2016. It seems it has been quite challenging for many  – unfortunately, I’m not talking about the exciting challenges that ignite our passions or that give meaning to our lives. But the other challenges that come due to loss, heartache, ‘forced’ change, and so forth.

For me, 2016 saw me achieve my lifelong dream of training as an actor.  This has been the main reason why I took a  break from blogging. As nervous as I was on embarking on a dream I have had since 16 years of age, I am very proud of myself to have continued this path of learning new skills whilst putting myself ‘out there’.  So at the end of September I completed my two year Advanced Diploma in Stage and Screen Acting at The Performing Arts Conservatory in Brisbane (Australia) – formerly The Actors Conservatory.

I not only learnt new skills but discovered a lot about myself. And met some very lovely students and teachers.

But the flip side was the financial hardship and the juggling of casual work with study whilst trying to keep the ‘wolves’ at bay. This has been the hardest and most challenging part of the last two years, especially in 2016. At times, the ‘wolves’ got their paws through the windows and across the thresholds. They gnashed their teeth and scratched my arms. And left their drool and stench on my door. But somehow they have now retreated with their tails drooping and snarling because I wouldn’t let them defeat me.  A little stench still remains but a continued scrubbing should see that disappear overtime in 2017.

Though I knew there would be the financial issues due to returning to study (with VET fees) it also felt right. And I am so glad to have followed my instinct and have trust that things would (and will) work out.

Birth and death are part of life so I know there will always be losses of loved ones. And there will always be challenges and change. But these give us strength and teach us what is important to us.

With a view of leaving 2016 and the past behind, may 2017 be full of love, peace, joy, friendship, passion and the things that make you happy and fulfilled.

x Helen

 

 

 

 

About Helen Ross

Welcome to my creative world. I have many passions; some of which I write about in my blog posts. I have a quirky sense of humour, and dance to the beat of my own drum. Thanks for dropping by and hope you visit again soon. I always have tea, coffee, wine and cake.
This entry was posted in All my posts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2017 wishes for you

  1. jillmarley says:

    Hi Helen, you’ve been very busy! Congratulations on your latest achievement and best wishes for a happy and prosperous new year. Cheers, Jill

  2. That’s fantastic 😀 I wanted to do acting when I was at school but didn’t have what it takes and/or too scared to try – good on you for taking the plunge.

Leave a Reply

